Programs & Awards

Master Builder Award

Master Mason Rookie Award

R.W. Robert Johnson Service Award

The Massachusetts Grand Lodge of Masons is pleased to present our “Master Builder’s Award” as part of this jurisdiction’s ongoing commitment to membership engagement and getting our existing members involved in their respective blue lodges.

There are many brothers in our lodges who are looking for Masonic activities to engage them. There are also those brothers whom have not returned to lodge, and if a concerted effort is made by the Worshipful Master to reconnect with these brothers, the Master Builder’s Award may just be the vehicle to peak their interest and get them coming out once again.

​​The future of our fraternity and our ability to continue to grow our membership is highly dependent on being able to engage and integrate our new members into the activities of the lodge. When new members become involved and active in their respective lodges they become the best prospects for new candidates for that lodge.

The Master Mason Rookie Award is an official means by which we can achieve these membership goals.​
This award is to be given to the unsung Brother of the Lodge working behind the scenes who goes above and beyond the call of duty, perhaps unnoticed to some, but who does not otherwise meet the stringent requirements for the Distinguished Service Award or a Meritorious Service Certificate.

The intent is to recognize the hardest working among us, leaving the exact criteria to each Master.  The award itself is a formal certificate signed by the District Deputy Grand Master and the Worshipful Master, which will be framed as a plaque with a Grand Lodge medallion.  Each recipient will also receive a custom "Service" lapel pin.

Grand Master's Award

Distinguished Service Medal

Grand Lady Service Award

The Grand Master's Award is an honor for Lodges who hit certain achievements within the course of the year.  This award is given to Lodges that serve as exemplars for how a Lodge should function.

There are 12 mandatory categories of achievements that must be achieved.  In addition, the lodge is required to meet 6 out of 11 opitional categoies. 

For more information please go to

This award is given to a Mason for his for exemplary service and distinguished service to the Fraternity, the community AND the
member’s house of worship. This award may be requested by the Master of a Lodge once in his year.  He must write a letter to the Grand Master's Office in which he details the specifics of the nominee’s contributions to Masonry, House of Worship and Community 
Behind every great man, and more often not working quietly behind the scenes, is a Grand Lady. The Grand Lady Service Award is a recognition granted by the Worshipful Master of a Lodge only once per year. It is to be presented to that un-championed Lady who supports the work and the men of the Lodge, often with little or no recognition.

The Lodge is blessed by such Ladies but has rewarded them with but a simple “thank you” for their help over the many years. The intent is to recognize their work, leaving the exact criteria to each Master. The award itself is a formal certificate signed by the District Deputy Grand Master and the Worshipful Master. Each recipient will also receive a custom Lady’s lapel pin.